Thank You!

I recently visited with a talented designer from a local design shop called Grain & Mortar. I’ve been a fan of theirs for a year or so now. Talking with him really inspired me and gave me a lot of insight into what I need to do to become a better designer. I felt really appreciative that he would take the time to answer my questions and look over my portfolio. So I decided to make a design that says “Thank you”.

thank-you

I realized a little too late that this design was turning out pretty girlie and I would be sending it to a guy, but hopefully he will appreciate the thought.

For this design I used a free kit from Photoshop called “Enchanted Watercolor Kit.” It gave me all the twigs, berries, flowers and leaves you see in the design. I downloaded all the elements in the kit as pngs. Then I scaled, duplicated and rotated to my hearts content.

This design was inspired not only from gratitude but also a coloring app I have on my phone. One of the latest coloring designs in the app was a giant “Thank You” with clouds and rainbows, different swirly things and shapes coming out of the text. I’ve had the watercolor kit for a while but I didn’t really have a good use for it yet. I have seen some wedding invitations online that had a similar theme and decided to put all these things together. I’ve also fallen in love with the Great Vibes font, just can’t get enough of it.

I really like this design. I felt like the breaks in space between elements is as organic and natural as the elements themselves. I hope you all like it as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

